top of page
Sheet Music and Guitar

Private

Lessons

Benefits of Private Lessons
Sheet Music

Benefits of Private Lessons

Private lesson teachers model a professional sound on their instrument. How do babies learn to talk? By listening to people talk. How do instrumentalists learn to play with a characteristic sound? By hearing a characteristic sound.

​From banddirectorstalkshop.com

Private Instructors

We encourage all of our students to study privately. Students can take lessons during their class period as well. Students who plan to study music in college should absolutely be taking private lessons. We are building a list of instructors in the area that we recommend.

Please contact these teachers directly to find out about prices and scheduling. 

  • Beginners
    Jamie Dormody (847) 644-2887 jamied621@hotmail.com
  • Flutes
    Veronika Dortch (847) 356-1380 smiddortch@aol.com Laurel Kaiser (847) 540-1989 Jl89kaiser@gmail.com Susan Mocarski www.susanmocarski.com Kris Peterson (224) 321-6006 kris_ptrsn@yahoo.com Cynara Pierzina (815) 356-7464 – office (815) 382-6569 – cell cpierzina@encoremusicacademy.org www.encoremusicacademy.org
  • Oboe
    Marissa LeFevre (815) 236-0872 marissalefevre@gmail.com Andrew Leitza (815) 307-4487 ​a.leitza1@gmail.co
  • Bassoon
    Rich Stiles, Director of Bands Woodstock High School rstiles@wcusd200.org Madison Cardenas madi.cardenas@att.net
  • Clarinet
    Timothy Graf (815) 814-5909 timothyjgraf@gmail.com Sara Eikenberry sara.eikenberry@gmail.com
  • Trumpet
    Glenn Eikenberry geikenberry@d56.org ​ Brendan Frank www.brendanfrank.com Lou Thoms ​K_and_L@sbcglobal.net (847) 223-1453 Stephen Wadsack (online lessons) ​stephenwadsack@gmail.com stephenwadsack.com Ed Suh ​(847) 376-075
  • French Horn
    Russ Henning wotlhorn@comcast.net Brenda Kublank (847) 367-7790 bkublank@gmail.com
  • Trombone
    Lou Thoms ​K_and_L@sbcglobal.net (847) 223-1453 Kevan Feyzi 608-469-8589 kevfeyzi@gmail.com
  • Percussion
    Jake Fromkin (224) 688-6807 jfromkin1@gmail.com Anthony Jay Houston (815) 685-5989 anthony@AJHvibes.com AJHvibes.com Brian "Choppy" Massimo (847) 775-9669 choppy3@att.net www.MassimoMallets.com Matt Potts (815) 245-3624 mpotts@cultureartsmusic.com ​cultureartsmusic.org Bret Sher ​www.bretsher.com Austin Koziol (traveling teacher) ​Groovi.drummer@gmail.com
  • Piano
    Anne Rice (847) 546-6221 ​ Jonathan Cruz (speaks Spanish) (847) 293-2523 jcruzpiano@yahoo.com jonathancruzpiano.com ​ Laurel Kaiser (847) 540-1989 Jl89kaiser@gmail.com
  • Guitar
    Jonny Untch, Director of Bands Antioch High School (Summers Only) jonathan.untch@chsd117.org Brendan Frank www.brendanfrank.com
  • Bass
    Rolan Velasquez (847)254-9222 ​rv862002@yahoo.com
  • Strings
    Susan Mocarski - Violin, Viola, Cello www.susanmocarski.com
  • Voice
    Daina Fischer (847) 732-0630 dainafischermezzo@gmail.com Kathy Szamocki (224) 321-6046 lovetoteachvoice@gmail.com
Scholarships

Lesson Scholarships

The Round Lake Area School Fine Arts Boosters are pleased to provide scholarships for private lessons. Find the application and learn more about the scholarships at their website.

Learning Guitar
bottom of page